Jim Thompson was the American guy who practically revive the almost dying Thai Silk industry in Thailand. And for us, it was a quick practical trip to his house as the mall near it was still closed (we’ve arrived around early 9:00 AM) so we walked around and boom! This was just walking distance.

a pretty interesting vase full of lotus

Water vase lotus. This was the first thing I’ve noticed when I was inside the compound house.

I grew up in a Spanish type house that has a separate servant house and really big garden. One of the key features in the house was the 2 enormous fish ponds that was full of lotus flower blooming in pink (Nelumbo nucifera), white and yellow with fruit bearing seed cups. So this one despite being a little different from where I grew up sort of brings back memories.

Jim Thompson's house

There is an entrance fee to visit inside Jim Thompson’s house. Can’t recall how much.

This is the entrance of the house and I wasn’t able to take picture inside as I recall it’s not allowed but there are some who did took some but I was not that interested to actually snapped some Chinese lacquers or wooden Buddha statues.

Jim's mini spirit house

An interesting spirit house I saw displayed at the garden. Almost everybody there in Thailand has one.

Weaving silk machine

A sample weaving silk machine displayed inside the hallways

a basket full of silk worm

A mat full of silk worm…

The Pond I saw at Jim's

There is a pond beside the restaurant in here. I don’t like the fishes, despite how big they are, most of them are Butterfly Koi.

demonstrating silk thread

A worker demonstrating cooking silk cocoon to extract the thread.

The worker was demonstrating how to cook silk cocoon in order to weave the silk threads without destroying the whole piece. Didn’t stay long enough cause my Mom was in a hurry to move along. X_X

My Jim Thompson silk scarf

My silk scarf purchase @ Jim Thompson’s

Here I just bought one scarf at the Jim Thompson store.

I really love scarves, whether it’s pashmina, merino or cotton and I soo wanted to buy 2-3 scarves but have to settled for one as it cost around 2,000+ Baht. My dream scarf to own are 4 different Hermès for each weather season but right now, I’ll just settle for Jim Thompson.