It’s now 4 days before Christmas and I am supposed to pick up Laura Mercier’s Rose Rendezvous highlighter last week after reading KarlaSugar’s review on it but obviously did not.

Sigh! There was, you know, this ongoing internal war inside my head arguing my needs versus want and I end up not buying it at all and instead took home Laura Mercier’s famous eye liner cake.

Laura Mercier Tightline Cake Eye Liner in Orchid Shimmer and Activator

My reason or should I say excuse (*grins*) was I got the feeling by next year my Bloom liquid eye liner won’t last long enough for dreaded summer months to come. So, I’m saving this for next year use.

And if you read my old post, you know that I don’t favor much the use eye liner pencil except for lining my eye waterline or outer lower lash. With liquid, the problem is that they expire easily in 6 months so I hope this cake liner will not.

Laura Mercier Tightline cake eye liner in Orchid Shimmer.

Moving on, I find this gorgeous Orchid Shimmer of black-violet shade great compared to the Mahogany Brown shade which looks like “wet soil” or mud brown based on Karla’s swatches.  While the picture above captures the actual look on pan the next picture below shows something different.

A very stark difference from the picture above.

This was picture near sunlight and you actually can see a blue based tint. So this is definitely a “cool” shade of Violet not Purple.

You might wonder and ask if there is difference between Purple and Violet shade because you know there isn’t! Actually there is.

Purple is a combination of Red and Blue with more emphasis on the combination of violet and “warm” red tints if I my understanding is right while Violet according to Wikipedia is synonymous with “cool” bluish purple shades which I find this shade leaning towards to.

To clarify, Purples are shades with a hint of warm tone due to more red tint while Violets are shades with a hint of cool tone with more blue tint. Still, Violets are categorized under Purple as the latter is a combination of two primary colors: Red and Blue.

Phew! This made me nose bleed talking about colors. I hope you understand how I explained it.

I haven’t used this yet but it looks almost half full.

Anyway, the sales lady asked if I want an activator thought water is good but I doubt the product can last on my creasing eye lids using that so I bought one.

It was new and full during purchase inspection but due to my “commute” handling it has been reduced to something…like the picture above. I’ve been reading reviews that there is a problem of leakage with the packaging of this Tightline Activator. It made me think twice about travelling with it.

To wrap up:

The Orchid Shimmer tightline cake eye liner is made in USA.

While the Activator is made in Italy. Good for 12 months once open.

Since I haven’t swatch and test the product, I cannot given recommendations. I would do so once I try it next year.

Believe me, the Activator is tad expensive! A 150 bucks difference! I have yet to see if this product is worth it or not and I hope it is. It would be a terrible waste of money if not.

Product Details:
Brand: Laura Mercier Tightliner Cake Eye Liner and Activator
Price: PHP 995 (Cake Eye Liner) and PHP 845 (Activator)
Where: Rustan’s (bought mine at Gateway Mall, Araneta)