I was a little down last month and decided to pass by Makati to occupy my mind with window shopping but I end up splurging a little too much in Rustan’s.

The source of my splurge: Bobbi Brown.

I told myself I’m not gonna buy this brand anymore since it was expensive compared to Stila…but I was eventually won over by the charming makeup artist who was down to earth and entertaining.

I didn’t catch her name but I did asked where she studied because she seems not around from here which I was right. She grew up and is a professionally trained make up artist in the US and this was just her project work for the brand.

Anyway, among all the products offered I ended up with some hum-hum, no frills—just plain ordinary everyday wear colors. Matte eye shadow in Bone (2) , shimmering eye shadow in Copper Sand (22) and Peony blush (16)

(L to R) Bone, Peony and Copper Sand

These used to be in circular, twist type packaging but in recently years they change that to square pop up type which I like since it’s more convenient to store and open.

An up-closed photo of Bone eye shadow. Kinda like soy milk in color.

Peony blush is a bright cotton candy pink color. It’s blue based I guess.

Copper Sand is a light cinnamon color suited for everyday wear.

(L to R) Bone, Peony and Copper Sand swatch

Bone came off as a chalky, soya bean milk color. It’s a great eye highlighter but I mostly use this as my based eye shadow with thick black eye liner especially when I’m in a hurry which works well because it makes my eye well rested and look bigger.

Peony blush is a really bright pink shade that I would advise to use a big kabuki brush in light strokes because you might end up looking like a clown in this. Best mixed with darker blush.

Copper Sand reminds me of Estee Lauder’s Cinnamon shade but a bit lighter. It’s not fine milled but good enough that it does not cause any fall out. Light tan shade would best describe this. Great as a crease shade.

I’ve been using them quite sometime and I can say it’s a great investment for simple everyday wear especially the Peony blush which I currently use to brighten most of the dark blush I owned.

However, I noticed that the powders are not buttery smooth like those of Stila.

Will I buy again?
Ah…maybe. Price is quite expensive. Hahaha!

Here are the details:
Bobbi Brown matte eye shadow in Bone = Php 1,100-
Bobbi Brown shimmering eye shadow in Copper Sand = Php 1,100-
Bobbi Brown blush in Peony = Php 1, 350-

Available in Rustan’s Beauty Source